Northeast Delta Dental Halfway to St. Patrick’s Day 5k & 10k, 9/10/2017

3 Oct

Sunday, September 10, 2017 10:15 start.  The Wild Rover, Manchester, NH

PODIUM DAY!!!! 1/93 YAY!!   23:07 (different course from last year) “kick time” 6:05/mile

9th female, 29th overall

 

Bagpipes & kilts. Photo courtesy Millennium Running

Northeast Delta Dental Halfway to St. Patrick’s Day 5k & 10k.   My 4th time racing this event.    2016 and 2015 race write-ups.  Another fantastic event by Millennium Running and John Mortimer, who keeps raising the bar of excellence.

Race Start! 1000+ runners take over Elm Street! I’m about 4 rows back, on left of shot, red & black Whirlaway uniform

The starting line, Elm Street, downtown Manchester is in front of where I used to work at Federal Court.   For 23 years I worked in downtown Manchester and covered many lunchtime miles & races there.   I love when they shut down Elm Street for runners!!!  Both 5k and 10k races started together with 511 runners for 5K and 513 for 10K = 1024 runners!!! Wow!!

I did a pretty good warm up, strides & dynamic stretching on Elm Street.  The start was nicely done with mayor Ted Gatsas and an impromptu crowd rendition of the national anthem.

The gun fired and we were off.   I told myself to run my own race.  Up North Elm to the uphill right hand turn and trying to keep strong.  My pace picked up as I got in the groove.  I tried to stay strong and push, push, push!!  5k’s are “uncomfortable”

Familiar with the course, I kept looking for the Bridge Street light and right hand turn.  Keep it together, be strong, form, focus.   I had it in me to throw in a powerful kick for the finish line – here was my chance, time to FLY!!!!  Gorgeous sight, the black & white inflatable Millennium finish arch & the timing clock.  Fabulous hearing my name announced by WMUR Sports Director Jamie Staton’s generous shout out – fantastic!!   Woooo!!!!  Over the line, whew!!!!

 

Photographer caught me with both feet off the ground. Millennium clocked my “kick time” here at 6:05/mile

 

There was no line for results screen at timing trailer, so I quickly looked and found out, what?!?!?!  1st AG!!!  Over the moon thrilled!!!  Unreal!!  No way?!?!  Through luck, I managed an Age Group win!!  They don’t come often for me and I deeply savor and cherish them.  There’s no feeling like striving at running (almost 40 years) and getting something like that- wow, amazing!!! Living the dream for sure!!!  I feel so grateful.

There was a lot of fun going on post-race.  I gave my beer ticket to Greg Audet and did a 20 minute warm-down.

Post-race celebration. Photo courtesy Millennium Running.

 

When I returned, chatted with runners.  There was complimentary Rustic Crust Flatbread pizza, Stonyfield Yogurt, PowerAde, fruit, plus booths and entertainment at Wild Rover’s Celtic Festival.

Music, bagpipes, Irish dancing.  Extras from Millennium included free digital photos emailed to us, finisher video, stainless steel drinking mug.

Very fortunate day! Podium, 1/93 AG! Hard to see in photo – Guinness award glass in engraved “Delta Dental Halfway to St. Patty’s Day 5k”

Friends Eric Eastman and Greg Audet

Friend, Greg Audet and finish line

 

Very fortunate day. One to cherish for a long time! 1/93 AG. These don’t come often or easily!

 

Points Chase Standings F50-59

Points Chase status, all females. Very grateful to be on list with these fast ladies

Leave a Reply

