CRAFT Sportswear, Millennium Running NH 10 Miler – August 26, 2017

1 Sep

Lake Massabesic, Manchester

Podium Day 2/78 AG !!  Wooo!!!

Race capped at 1,200 runners

Photo courtesy Millennium Running, Lake Massabesic

This was my 4th NH 10 Miler, having run previously in 2011, 2015 and 2016.   It has been a mental adjustment to go back after the 2011 race because back then (1:10:01, 7:01 pace, which was a 10 mile PR by 4:49 minutes!) was so speedy.  I’ve been working to find a “new normal” with my pace, miles, injuries and find new ways to enjoy it and not get jammed up comparing my times to back then.   I am finding a ton of enjoyment in the new AG, but know it is fleeting since I am a “young” AGer and soon the younger AG runners will age up too.   Hopefully Millennium will consider 5 year age groups to help us!!

This year was a 8:00 a.m. start, so set alarms for 5:00 Saturday a.m., taped my feet (posterior tibial tendinitis) the night before.  Smoothly arrived at Lakeside Lanes, Candia Road parking lot by 6:56 a.m.  The temperature was chilly enough to wear a jacket & gloves before the race!   Tremendous contrast to last year when race was hot.   Visited with friends, some pre-race nerves.

Before the race with celebrity announcer, WMUR TV Sports Anchor Jamie Staton!!

Approximately 4 weeks ago, NH Orthopaedics Center aspirated 20 ml from my right knee & 15 ml from left knee (great for movement, I can crouch down like a kid picking berries!) and I’m partway through series of Euflexxa injections in both knees.

Euflexxa goes here in knees

My “mechanics” feel different, plus I am running very little, so I just hoped to treat the race like a long run, do my best & have fun.

We lined up and WMUR-TV Sports Director, Jamie Staton, kindly let me leave my jacket with him.   The gun fired and we took off.   The course encircles Lake Massabesic in a clock-wise direction with the start and finish located at the Lake Massabesic parking lot . . . and some challenging hills.

Lake Massabesic on right, gloves & singlet on August mornng

I did not end up taking water (or Gummi Bears!) but awesome to have so much available out there.   John Mortimer and Millennium Running crew do such a great job.

The relay was also underway with Andy Schachat announcing at ½ mark!   At that point I was finally able to catch up to friend Greg Audet.   The hills were just as challenging as I remembered, but a lot of camaraderie tackling them.   Another female & I worked together up and over the last hill, but my calves were spasming on the final mile downhill.

Lake Massabesic on right

I kept my gloves (with Whirlaway singlet & shorts) until just about the end, ditching them near veteran runner Lucien Trudeau.   With my calves ready to seize up, my “kick” was abbreviated.   Still wanting to finish strong, my form must have been rough because just before the final turn into the parking lot, John Mortimer yelled to me & asked if I was OK.  Absolutely man!!

Rounding to the final straightway, finish line in sight & hearing a fabulous shout-out from WMUR’s Jamie Staton!!!   Seeing the clock coming into view, the whole feeling is extraordinary as I crossed the line, stopped my watch and felt a little emotional to get through so successfully. My knees, lack of training, mental struggle – dang, I got through another, wow!!!!!  I was handed my medal and kept moving.

Finish Line!! Feet low, don’t seize up calves

The results were right there and the line was short.  Those screens on the timing trailer (and cool results printer kiosks) gave me a ridiculously overwhelming surprise!!!  WOW, podium!?!!  No way?!?!?!  I was so fortunate and hugely grateful for a podium day!!!   2/78 AG.   Holy freaking cow, truly such a gift – adding to the extraordinariness of the day!!!  Wow!!!!  Very unexpected and so thankful for all the great fortune, great people and circumstances in my life – totally “living the dream”

Podium Day 2/78, with superspeedy Pat Bourgault

Post race food included Rustic Crust Flatbread Company; YASSO Frozen Greek Yogurt bars “Dessert With Benefits” (100 calorie toffee caramel chocolate chip);  Stonyfield Yogurt, Organic Fruit, Dasani Water, Gatorade.   We received quality shirts from race sponsor CRAFT Sportswear.  Also, frozen CryoMAX ice packs right at the finish line – popped one on calf!   “Scientifically Proven to be the Longest Lasting Pack, up to 8 hours 36-40 degrees”

Podium Day!! Mason jar award glasses, gift certificate for Millennium Retail Store, CRAFT shirt, finisher medal

Even more extras including, awesome free digital photos & finisher video a few days after the race.   John Mortimer and the Millennium crew think of everything!  They even emailed us the day prior to the race to remind us to get there early for parking.

1:23:33, AG 68.90%, PODIUM DAY!!!!! YAY 2/78

Points Standings were calculated I am so excited to be doing well, which keeps me feeling very motivated!!

 

Celebrating with Award Glass!! Fresh squeezed lime; lemon-lime seltzer; dash of Diet Polar Orange

Leave a Reply

