Enterprise Bank Boot Scootin’ Boogie 5k and Brewfest Music Festival, July 15, 2017

20 Jul

Londonderry Athletic Field Association Complex

Podium day,  1/111 AG

6:30 PM race start

Boot Scoot Ready!

Bonfire, beer tasting, concert, mechanical bull, 16 breweries, 1400 people! Millennium Running continues to expand on the fun!

My third consecutive year competing at this race and like last year, grabbed a black Dunkin’ Dark Roast iced coffee on the way, hoping for some energy. YUM!!!   Concerned because I’ve been dealing with heel pain the past month and Thursday before the race, I even had to stop my run because it was so painful… no expectations, wondering about the pain to gut through a race… at least it isn’t marathon distance. (At podiatrist appt 2 days post-race, heel x -rays and ultrasound showed I have a calcaneus bone bruise – ouch!!!  “a bone bruise can be described as a stage before the fracture”)

Superfast friend Pat Bourgault was racing (2nd race of the day) plus a very large field of competitors… gulp… extra daunting.   Picked up my race number, singlet, wrist band, tasting glass (5 oz) for the Brewfest and walked back to the car for some banana & warm up.   The start line was located differently from last 2 years.   We lined up in the start corral for the national anthem, nervous anticipation, the gun fired and we were off!!!!   After we got to the bottom of the first hill, right on Mammoth Road (128) I tried to not let a few friends get too far ahead of me.   Greg, Ellen and Pat are all so fast.   We looped into the residential neighborhoods where we were cheered on and I tried to keep pushing . . . keep it together. . . I didn’t have too much extra, just hang on.   I think Violent Femmes (alternative rock 1980s) were on the iPod Shuffle.   Hoping for the next mile marker, keep hanging on.   I tried to keep Pat in reach, she is such a strong, fast, tough competitor.

Back out on the main road for uphill climb towards the school (Millennium Mile start).   When you’re in race mode, roads seem extra long and steep . . . focus on form, nothing to set off right heel.   Mammoth Road hill, up, up, up – then right on Sergeant for some more uphill . . . focusing, go, go, go!

Coming towards finish line

Yay, I could hear announcer Andy Schachat’s voice coming towards finish line.   Anything left I could find, kick with it. . . . go, go, go, strong finish . . . I rounded the final left, the finish arch will be soon, kick it super strong . . . finish clock in view and hearing Andy Schachat’s super generous, complimentary shout out “Sarah Prescott, future NH Hall of Famer” makes me feel so rewarded. . . over the line!!! WHEW!!!!

Kept walking, moving for a bit.   WOW, WOW, WOW!!!!   Somehow I got it done and I am ridiculously grateful.   I tried to drink some water and check in with friends, then see how I did at the instant results on TV screen mounted on Millennium Running Timing Trailer. What?!?!? When I saw the “1” in division, it seemed too good to be true!!!  No way!?!?!  Unbelievably fortunate for how it came together.   Truly a gift I’ll savor for long, long time – a podium day is never ever taken for granted.   Dang, holy cow.

Trying to slow down, I picked up a sample of flatbread pizza just out of the fire  http://www.americanflatbreadproducts.com/revolution/ I love watching the wood fired oven and the philosophy of American Flatbread.   I also grabbed a spike bag from sponsor Enterprise Bank (needed one!)

American flatbread pizza. Flatbread pizza oven!!! YUM!!! Loved the Revolution: caramelized onions, mushrooms, blend of fine cheeses and herbs.

Pat and I picked up our awesome cow bell awards!! FUN!!! LOVE them!!!!   Millennium Running is always thinking, perfect tie-in to the event!!!   We also were awarded Millennium Retail Store gift certificates.

With Pat Bourgault and awesome cowbell awards!!! FUN!!

Trying to take it all in, savoring the night, so much good stuff at once . . . awesomeness all around.   My heel gave such an incredible effort and hurt as Pat and I walked the half mile back to the school parking lot.   I totally wanted to see the bonfire, but walking or putting weight on my heel was rough, dang.   What would my coaching advisor do?  Put ice on it, don’t delay.   (At least I got to see “the Northeast’s largest contained fire” bonfire the two prior years!)

On the ride north, I quickly picked up celebratory raw tuna and got home by 9:00 for some asparagus, zucchini/tomato/ fresh herbs/garlic/onion celebration dinner and recounting the events.

Cowbell award, tasting glass

I feel incredibly blessed . . . totally fortunate & living the dream!!!

Singlet, tasting glass, cowbell & gift certificate awards. Millennium does an incredible job!

23:25  Age Graded 71.32%, AG Time: 20:42

Unexpected, lucky Podium Day. . . cherish & savor

Leave a Reply

