Fisher Cats Thanksgiving 5K – Millennium Running 11.24.16

1 Dec

Podium Day!!!   1/186 in AG  – Very, very lucky

13th/ 15 races  – 2016 Elliot Millennium Running Series

 

Northeast Delta Dental Fisher Cats Stadium

Northeast Delta Dental Fisher Cats Stadium

My third year running this race – another fun, well done Millennium event.  What better way to start Thanksgiving than with 2,700 running friends!   An extra highlight this year included start/finish line INSIDE Northeast Delta Dental Stadium at Center Field on the warning track.

Start & Finish on Warning Track

Start & Finish on Warning Track

Temps in the 30’s 9:00 a.m. race – tights and long sleeve.  There were even snowflakes post race.   Race day number pick up was easy on the stadium concourse level – enjoyed seeing so many friends and familiar faces.   After a warm up, I returned to the stadium and went down the stairs, through bleacher aisles and onto the ballfield.  Nerves, excitement.   After I figured out which direction we were starting (d’oh) I did a quick, stealthy slip through a couple thousand people towards the front.  The national anthem was beautifully performed and there was a poignant recognition for two local runners struck by a car last week in Bedford.   One of the runners, Attorney Uliasz, fired the starter’s pistol and we had a moment of silence for 58 year old Ducharme who succumbed to his injuries.   (Union Leader article)

2,700 running friends

2,700 running friends

Amped up, we prepared, the gun fired and we took off along the warning track.  Out past WMUR studio with their cameraman – slight incline on Granite Street – trying to keep strong.  Work, work, work, push.   I saw friend Greg Audet ahead.   When we turned back to Commercial Street, I managed to sneak by Greg, but wasn’t sure I could stay ahead of him.  Mentally keep it together, each step is closer to the finish.  Into the stadium, down onto the field and dirt warning track – saw the “kick here” sign and I heard WMUR Sports Director, Jamie Staton, announcing me with his always awesome shout out!!  Over the finish line, hit my watch, yay, yay!!!!  DONE!!!

I kept moving, then back out on the course to cheer for others, a warm down and grab a coat.   Back to the stadium –  Millennium wasn’t able to use timing trailer inside the stadium, so I didn’t look up how I did in my division.  Dave Audet was on the concourse with his awards and said I should go check the awards table.   On the way, I saw Ellen & Tom, so they came too.   Holy cow!!  I was very, very pleasantly surprised and so fortunate to win my AG.   It all depends on who shows up – thinking of Whirlaway teammate Miae Jacobs’ AG win last year.   I am definitely cherishing it and savoring the good fortune.  I received a gorgeous Whole Foods apple pie and offered it to Tom Raffio for his birthday (3 days later).   It turned out Ellen also won a pie, plus Tom won one the following day!

Ellen & Tom Raffio; Whole Foods Apple Pie & gift certificate to Millennium Running Retail Store

Ellen & Tom Raffio; Whole Foods Apple Pie & gift certificate to Millennium Running Retail Store

I am so grateful and appreciative for my body allowing me to do this and I give so much credit to all my running friend athletes out there… getting it done… everyone challenging themselves on a chilly morning… camaraderie, determination, covering the distance.   I don’t get jammed up about my per mile pace anymore, it’s about doing your best on any given day – not giving up.   Weekly PT with dry needling & Graston is keeping my hip injuries manageable.  Usually 6 needles each side, then Graston, and I walk like a “cowboy” for a while after, hahaha!!

With John Mortimer, founder CEO of Millennium Running; Tom Raffio President Northeast Delta Dental, Ellen Raffio

With John Mortimer, founder CEO of Millennium Running; Tom Raffio, CEO & President Northeast Delta Dental, Ellen Raffio

Millennium does a remarkable and always professional job with events — innovative, welcoming, appealing to so many runners, lots of fun & great extras like free digital photos — plus always coming up with more!  Well done John Mortimer and Millennium Running crew!!

Feeling very fortunate

Feeling very fortunate

 

1/186 in AG.   Even would have placed in Masters AG

Full results here

23:16,  23:21     7:30

Current Point Chase Standings

Current Point Chase Standings

3rd F overall in Millennium Points Chase, 1st in AG.

Live video from race

This race is part of the holiday mini-series, “NH Orthopaedic Holiday Hat Trick”  If we complete (3) of the final (4) events of the year towards earning a NHOC Holiday Hat Trick quarter zip pullover with thumbholes

AND race 13 of 15 in Elliot Millennium Running Series

26.2 STATUS:  756 people have earned their Series Jacket (26.2 miles)

ULTRA STATUS:  231 people achieved Ultra status (40+ miles)

ALL MILLENNIUM:   37 “studs” are on the All Millennium track by completing ALL Millennium Signature Events!

 

Leave a Reply

