October 25, 2014, my first 3K! CHaD Trick or Trot, Manchester NH

5 Nov

CHaD Trick or Trot 3k, Arms Park, Manchester NH

12:54.9  (4th of 156 in 40-49 AG)

12:54.9 (4th of 156 in 40-49 AG)

October 25, 2014 @ 5:30 PM   – 1089 runners

4th of 156 in 40-49   12:54, 6:56 pace

 

John Mortimer, Millennium Running.  Part of NHOC – Holiday Hat Trick, 3 race series.

Looking for something fun, I registered for this Halloween 3K.  I had never done a 3k before and I had seen a couple of John Mortimer’s races this year, including his 5 mile race at the Anheuser Bush brewery in Merrimack (USATF NE 5 Mile Championship)  I also watched/cheered/ran an 18 miler during Millennium’s inaugural New England Half Marathon last month and saw the quality of the event, superb organization and yes, cute fleece jacket schwag.   I am struggling, looking for ways to be inspired about running and racing right now… searching, searching searching.   I am trying to tap into the intrinsic motivation.  Do I want to run and race, or do I need to run and race?   This article about motivation was very interesting looking at that question.

Yes, this was fun, running fast in my track flats, people enjoying themselves in their creative Halloween costumes, pace marked corral start, big finish line, music, live TV coverage, announcer Andy Schachat calling out my finish, seeing the beautiful sun setting near the river.  Before the race, there were kid events – climbing wall, exotic animals, inflatable bounce house, fire truck.  I got to touch a hedgehog and photo op with a large stuffed “Elle” tiger.  Right after the race we could grab hot Portland pie pizza, Stonyfield yogurts, find results ticking across large screen, plus a race worker was speedily pulling up results onto a large screen, wow!   I am impressed.  I received a female sized, long sleeve race shirt which has great feel to the fabric, I’ve already worn it hiking.   I even got a cool glass for completing race #1 of 3 race holiday series, plus a beer ticket at 1 of 3 cool Manchester places.

To top it all off, I even ran faster than I had expected!  Under 7:00 pace for the first time this year!!  Yay!!!  4th in my age group!!  THRILLED!!!

To celebrate, I took my beer ticket to The Pint Publik House on Elm Street.  I had forgotten how much fun Elm Street had become the last few years!  I sat with 2 sweet girls who also raced (unicorn and gnome) and savored the tremendous combination of post race endorphins of feeling fast, putting in good miles for the day, appreciating a quality event, great camaraderie and wow yaaaaay, tremendously exceeding expectations!

Leave a Reply

