USATF New England 10 Mile Championship, Amherst MA 2.24.13

28 Feb

A few days before the race, saw NECN forecast of 12-18″  of snow.  We’d find a way to run in it, but driving there?  Held off booking a room as snow forecast decreased and race start time delayed.    Still, a good amount of snow in New Hampshire when I met Whirlaway teammate Brandon Newbold for the 2.5 hour drive.   The drive was challenging and cars were off the road, but Brandon (from Alaska) plowed little Kia through undeterred.   

boxing gloves?

boxing gloves?

This was my 5th Amherst and ended up a course PR for me.  I put a lot of work into rebuilding fitness, hoping to pull off a good race and felt very fortunate how it came together.  I had a couple key targets, including Stephen Peckiconis and Tom Derderian, who I caught and kept ahead of.   Through the wet and muddy dirt section, noticed a very mud splattered female target… got her!  I kept my focus and felt strong on the hills.  Knowing every second counts for the team, I pushed hard the last 3 miles against another master, who was somehow able to chat, but only put 3 seconds on me.

Results were posted and I was thrilled with a fast time and 5th master, yay!!!  Placement was a luck factor since some fast masters did not end up racing.  I was surprised to hear my name during awards and with 5 year age groups, I even pulled off 2nd place there! yay!!  And to top it off, I scored for the winning women’s masters team, Whirlaway!!!  Can’t beat a day like that!!  So many accomplishments, definitely something not to be taken for granted.  

Congratulations to everyone who ran and thanks coach Fernando Braz, so many friends and Whirlaway teammates for a phenomenal day.

1:12:38   7:16 pace   (course PR by 1:28)

Womens Masters Team Results

Full results

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

